More Brewing Adventures

WOW! has it really been more than a month since my last post? I know I’ve been busy, but I really need to take more time to publish more random thoughts here.

Surly

On October 10th Surly Brewing hosted an American Homebrewers Association (AHA) Rally to help promote AHA membership and this coming June the National Homebrewer Conference.

This was my first time going to Surly’s brewery. What a great event it was. I won’t cover it too much as you can find more details about this rally on www.beertown.org and at www.surlybrewing.com. What I do want to say though, is what a great turn out by local AHA members. This rally set an AHA attendance rally record, excuse me blew away the record by more than 100 persons in attendance.

One thing that I noticed while I was at Surly and this is something that I think will be kept in my mind for a while now, but that is a sign on Surly’s door. The sign is also posted on their site here: http://www.surlybrewing.com/growlers.php So according to MN Law craft brewers that sell more than 3500 barrels of beer can no longer sell their beer via growlers. What kind of a law is this? This type of law inhibits the craft brewers in the state of MN. The law makers in the state of MN really need to take another look at this law. Laws like this keep Minnesota in a state of prohibition.

Thankfully during some business travels this year I was able to visit some great craft breweries in both Albuquerque and Billings.  One of the best parts of these brewery visits was that we could sit back and enjoy a few pints straight from the brewer, then when we found something we liked we would buy a growler or two to take back to the hotel to share with other co-workers when they would finish their long day of working at the office.

Hopefully more to come on this topic.

Midwest Supplies

Over the weekend I added to my brewery. I purchased more equipment so that I can now brew 10 gallon batches and have places for two 5 gallon batches to ferment. I have also recently acquired more equipment to hopefully soon convert to All-Grain brewing in 10 gallon batches. I’ve also started making arrangements for the AHA’s annual Teach a friend to brew day on 11/07/09. Can’t wait for that day as that unfortunately may be the next day that I’ll be able to brew. I did get ingredients for a batch of Porter so hopefully I’ll be able to brew before then.

See ya next time.

Leave a comment

Filed under Brew, Loghome Brewery

Leave a Reply

